# WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE

**REGULAR SESSION, 1960** 

# Fied in Office of the Secretary of West Virginia FEB 16

# ENROLLED

HOUSE BILL No....

(By Mr. Intho Putnam) " Mor. Casey )

PASSED February 9, 1960

In Effect Passage



### **ENROLLED**

# House Bill No. 6

(By Mr. Smith, of Putnam, and Mr. Casey)

[Passed February 9, 1960; in effect from passage.]

AN ACT to amend and reenact sections one, one-e, one-f, one-l and one-bb, article two, chapter fifty-one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, and to further amend said article two by adding thereto a new section, designated section one-cc, all relating to establishment of judicial circuits and terms of court therein.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

That section one, one-e, one-f, one-l and one-bb, article two, chapter fifty-one of the code of West Virginia, one thousand nine hundred thirty-one, as amended, be amended and reenacted, and that said article two be further amended by adding thereto a new section, designated section one-cc, all to read as follows:

Section 1. Judicial Circuits; Judges; Terms of Court.—

- 2 The state shall be divided into judicial circuits as3 follows: The counties of Brooke, Hancock and Ohio
- b lonows. The countries of Brooke, Hancock and Onto
- 4 shall constitute the first circuit; the counties of Mar-
- 5 shall, Tyler and Wetzel shall constitute the second
- 6 circuit; the counties of Doddridge, Pleasants and Ritchie
- 7 shall constitute the third circuit; the counties of Wood
- 8 and Wirt shall constitute the fourth circuit; the counties
- 9 of Calhoun, Jackson and Roane shall constitute the fifth
- 10 circuit; the county of Cabell shall constitute the sixth
- 11 circuit; the county of Logan shall constitute the seventh
- 12 circuit; the county of McDowell shall constitute the
- 13 eighth circuit; the county of Mercer shall constitute
- 14 the ninth circuit; the county of Raleigh shall con-
- 15 stitute the tenth circuit; the counties of Greenbrier,
- 16 Monroe, Pocahontas and Summers shall constitute the
- 17 eleventh circuit; the county of Fayette shall constitute
- 18 the twelfth circuit; the county of Kanawha shall con-
- 19 stitute the thirteenth circuit; the counties of Brax-
- 20 ton, Clay, Gilmer and Webster shall constitute the
- 21 fourteenth circuit; the county of Harrison shall constitute
- 22 the fifteenth circuit; the county of Marion shall constitute

the sixteenth circuit; the county of Monongalia shall

constitute the seventeenth circuit: the county of Preston 25 shall constitute the eighteenth circuit; the counties of Barbour and Taylor shall constitute the nineteenth circuit; 26 the county of Randolph shall constitute the twentieth circuit; the counties of Grant, Mineral and Tucker shall constitute the twenty-first circuit; the counties of Hampshire, Hardy and Pendleton shall constitute the twenty-31 second circuit; the counties of Berkeley, Jefferson and Morgan shall constitute the twenty-third circuit; the 33 counties of Mingo and Wayne shall constitute the twenty-34 fourth circuit; the counties of Lincoln and Boone shall constitute the twenty-fifth circuit; the counties of Lewis and 36 Upshur shall constitute the twenty-sixth circuit; the county of Wyoming shall constitute the twenty-seventh circuit; the county of Nicholas shall constitute the twentyeighth circuit; and the counties of Mason and Putnam shall constitute the twenty-ninth circuit. 40 41 There shall be elected on the Tuesday next after the first Monday in November, one thousand nine hundred

43 sixty, and every eighth year thereafter, one judge in each

- 44 of the circuits herein constituted, except for the first
- 45 circuit there shall be two judges elected.
- 46 The terms of the several circuit judges of the counties
- 47 aforesaid shall commence and be held each year as here-
- 48 inafter provided.
  - Sec. 1-e. Fifth Circuit.—For the county of Calhoun, on
- 2 the third Monday in February, June and October. For
- 3 the county of Jackson, on the first Monday in January,
- 4 May and September. For the county of Roane, on the
- 5 fourth Monday in January, May and September.
  - Sec. 1-f. Sixth Circuit.—For the county of Cabell, on
- 2 the first Monday in January and May, and on the second
- 3 Monday in September.
  - Sec. 1-1. Twelfth Circuit.—For the county of Fayette on
- 2 the first Tuesday in January, April and July, and the third
- 3 Tuesday in September.
  - Sec. 1-bb. Twenty-eighth Circuit.—For the county of
- 2 Nicholas, on the third Tuesday in February, May, August
- 3 and November.
  - Sec. 1-cc. Twenty-ninth Circuit.—For the county of
- 2 Mason, on the first Monday in January, May and Septem-

- 3 ber. For the county of Putnam, on the first Monday in
- 4 March, and on the second Monday in July and November.
- 5 This act insofar as it relates to the rearrangement of
- 6 judicial circuits and terms of court therein shall become
- 7 effective on January one, one thousand nine hundred
- 8 sixty-one, but the provisions of this act relating to the
- 9 election of judges of the judicial circuits, as rearranged
- 10 herein, shall become effective as of the date of passage of
- 11 this act: Provided, That persons desiring to file for
- 12 nomination as judge of either the twelfth, twenty-eighth
- 13 or twenty-ninth judicial circuits at the primary election
- 14 to be held on the second Tuesday in May, one thousand
- 15 nine hundred sixty, shall have ten days from and after the
- 16 date of passage of this act within which to file for such
- 17 nomination.

The Joint Committee on Enrolled Bills hereby certifies that the foregoing bill is correctly enrolled.

Chairman Senate Committee

Chairman House Committee

Originated in the House of Delegates

Takes effect from passage.

Clerk of the Senate

Clerk of the House of Delegates

President of the Senate

Speaker, House of Delegates

day of Jelinian, 1960.

Governor

Filed in Office of the Secretary of State of West Virginia FEB 161960

JOE F. BURDETT

SECRETARY OF STATE